Connecting at Conference

I was lucky enough to attend the Ontario Genealogy Conference that was recently held in Ottawa. A few of the reasons I LOVE attending:

  1. Deals. The vendors are there in spades and they offer great deals, DNA kits at unheard of prices, renewing your subscription to sites again at reduced rates, books, scanners, and more.
  2. Networking. Talk to societies, archives or other organizations face-to-face. They are there to help and answer your questions.
  3. Learning. The speakers, oh the speakers, their informative talks help to give you focus and direction in your research.
  4. Volunteering. You can put your own knowledge to work by volunteering at these events or by helping out. I was a part of the Social Media Team and they were a truly fun group to work with.
  5. Access. Did I mention the research room? FREE access to many great genealogy sites. The access given allowed me to research and locate many records that I didn’t even know were out there. Genealogy Quebec is the site where I found many new discoveries. The room also had free access to Find My Past, My Heritage, Ancestry, and others. This is a great way to ‘try them out’ and see if they would be a worthwhile purchase for you.
  6. Excursions. I had never been to Library and Archives Canada and felt a little intimidated about visiting. I shouldn’t have been, the tour was quite informative and I was able to ask questions when I wasn’t sure about something. It was a day well spent.

One thing I did this year was showcase my own surnames. I had a T-shirt printed and I was a walking billboard. My t-shirt received a lot of comments and because it was tweeted so many times I was contacted by people who matched my Gedmatch number! Goal achieved.

 

IMG_0331

Photo creds to LDC

 

I think we may see more of these shirts at future conferences.

You may wonder why I would travel so far (Alberta) to attend and there is really one over-riding reason, the people. The new-found friendships, renewed and strengthened are really the reason I keep coming back.

 

 

  10 comments for “Connecting at Conference

  1. June 23, 2017 at 8:33 pm

    Nope…. none of those names on my tree. Your shirt is AWESOME!!
    I would love to attend a conference one of these days, sounds like so much fun. Hoping it will be a possibility in the future.

    Like

    • June 23, 2017 at 8:42 pm

      Thanks for checking out my surnames. And I hope we will connect at a future conference!

      Like

  2. June 24, 2017 at 1:17 pm

    I wish I could have been there as well. Born, and raised a Ottawa but now living in B.C.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. June 24, 2017 at 2:55 pm

    I like the shirt! I am willing to bet you will see more and more of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. June 25, 2017 at 11:44 am

    Love the idea with the t-shirt!! I guess, I will make one for the German Genealogy Day in fall. Thanks for the inspiration. Oh and no, I don’t have any of those names 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lkessler
    July 2, 2017 at 11:13 pm

    Patricia,

    I saw your T-shirt with your surnames and GEDmatch kit number from this post and it prompted me to compare our kits on GEDmatch and write an article about it.

    I included your picture of your T-shirt in my article, assuming you want genealogists to see it and contact you if they might be related, so I’m asking for permission to post it (with properly attributing it to you and linking it to this blog post).

    Please take a look at my article at: http://www.beholdgenealogy.com/blog/?p=2167 , and if there’s anything you’d like me change, e.g. remove the picture or anything else, please let me know and I will do so and anonymize what you don’t want me to include.

    Thanks.

    Louis

    Liked by 1 person

    • July 2, 2017 at 11:30 pm

      Great post, thank you for checking with me, you definitely can use the picture. And I am now going to head back over to your blog and read it more in depth!

      Like

  6. lkessler
    July 3, 2017 at 12:16 am

    Thanks Patricia. And we’re not related. At least not within any genealogical time-frame.

    Liked by 1 person

    • July 3, 2017 at 12:19 am

      Too bad! But thanks for taking the time to do the analysis, it was very interesting.

      Like

Leave a comment